News

WhatsApp Will Block Calls And Messages From Users Who Disagree With The New Policy

“For the last several weeks we’ve displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update,” the company said in a statement. “After giving everyone time to review, we’re continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent.”

As a reminder, in January of this year, WhatsApp announced its intention to update its privacy policy. In accordance with the new rules, it is allowed to exchange data of messenger users with all services owned by Facebook. This announcement was followed by negative user reactions; which caused the service to postpone the effective date of the new rules to May 15. It was planned that in a few months the developers will be able to convince WhatsApp users to agree to the changes.
“We’ve spent the last few months communicating directly with users about our update,” a spokesperson told WIRED in a statement. “The majority of people have already accepted the update; and for anyone who hasn’t, we won’t be deleting their account on May 15; and we’ll be giving plenty of opportunities for them to review the update in the future. We know WhatsApp is a lifeline for many people around the world”. “Users are relying on WhatsApp more than ever right now and we want to keep it that way,” the spokesperson told WIRED.

In a seperate news, the disappearing messages feature of Facebook’s WhatsApp messenger may soon be adding a new option. According to the Twitter account WABetaInfo; which publishes news related to the work of the messenger and its new functions; the developers are now testing the option to delete messages within 24 hours from the date of publication.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s