WhatsApp has finally added the disappearing photos feature to the stable version of the app. The feature is known as ‘View Once’ and is similar to how Instagram’s expiring media feature works. When you send a photo using this feature, then it will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. But, you will have to select View Once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video. Keep reading to know more.
What do you need to know about the new WhatsApp features?
WhatsApp has confirmed that any photos or videos you send using “View Once” will not be saved in the recipient’s photos or gallery. Once you send a photo or video that you view once, WhatsApp will no longer be able to view it.
Messaging application prevents you from forwarding, saving, tagging, or sharing for viewing photos or videos sent or received at one time. You can only check whether the recipient has opened the photo or video view without activating the read receipt.
The company that owns Facebook also stated that if you do not open the photo or video within 14 days of posting, the media will disappear from the chat. If the message is still unread during the backup. If the photo or video is already open, the media will not be backed up and cannot be restored.
Why should I use See Once to send multimedia content to trusted users?
WhatsApp allows anyone to take screenshots or screens before the media disappears. In addition, if someone takes a screenshot or screenshot, that person will not be notified.
WhatsApp also warns that you can even use a camera or other device to take photos or videos before the media disappears. The company stated that “encrypted media can be stored on the WhatsApp server for several weeks after being sent.”
How to send View Once media on WhatsApp?
Step 1: Open WhatsApp and tap on the attachment icon.
Step 2: Then, go to Gallery and select the photo or video you want to send to your contact.
Step 3: After selecting it, you will see a clock-like icon in the ‘Add a caption’ bar, just tap on it to enable the View Once feature. Once you enable it, the app will show a message saying “Photo set to View Once.” You can then send disappearing photos to your friends and family members.