Article

How To Unsend Or Edit iMessages On iPhone With iOS 16

The launch of significant iMessage upgrades could be one of iOS 16’s best features. You now have a 15-minute opportunity to amend the message and a 2-minute window to unsend a message if the sender and recipient are both using iOS 16.

This is helpful if you accidentally send the wrong message to the wrong person at the wrong time or misspell a word.

However, there is far too much ambiguity over how this functionality functions because iOS 16 is still in the early public testing stage. Considering this, we created this step-by-step tutorial that details how to cancel or alter a text message sent using iMessage on any iPhone running iOS 16.

imessage-1

How to Unsend Texts in iMessage

It’s still better to have this feature than none at all, even though you only have a 2-minute window to erase or unsend content. Here’s how to cancel iMessages text messages:

Step 1: Open the Messages app from your iPhone’s home screen or app library.

Step 2: Now, go to the messaging thread from where you need to unsend/delete a message.

Step 3: Once inside, tap and hold any message you wish to unsend until you receive haptic feedback alongside an overlay menu.

Step 4: From the overlay menu that appears, tap on the ‘Undo Send’ option to unsend the message.

imessage-ios14

How to Edit Texts in iMessage

Contrary to the first option, which allows you to completely erase or Unsend a text message within two minutes, iOS 16 also adds a longer 15-minute window for users to make changes to text messages that have already been sent. This is how you do it:

Step 1: Open the Messages app from your iPhone’s home screen or app library.

Step 2: Go to the messaging thread where you want to edit the sent text.

Step 3: Once inside, tap and hold any message you wish to unsend until you receive haptic feedback alongside an overlay menu.

Step 4: From the overlay menu that appears, tap on the ‘Edit’ option to edit the sent text message.

When you take these actions, other people won’t know what message you deleted but they will still be able to see that you erased it. The message sent to the recipient’s device won’t be removed, though, if they are using an older version of iOS.

On the other side, if you were to update a text, the recipient would be able to view the history of edits by tapping on the text that says “Edited” beneath the message. Only five changes can be made to a single message by you.

Categories: Article

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s