How to Go Incognito in Google Maps

Private browsing—often called “Incognito Mode”—is a standard feature in web browsers, but it can be useful in other apps, too. Google Maps has an Incognito feature that’s surprisingly powerful. We’ll show you how it works.

You can see how much Google tracks your location by visiting your “Google Maps Timeline.” This information is not set in stone. Locations and the entire day’s worth of information can be removed. However, Google Maps’ Incognito feature can do this proactively.

What Does Incognito Mode in Google Maps Do?
When you enable Incognito Mode in Google Maps, a number of things happen. First, just like Incognito Mode on a web browser, your searches and browsing history won’t be saved.

Second, and maybe most importantly, it’s essentially a big “Off” switch for location tracking. Your location will not be recorded on your Timeline or anywhere you’ve shared your location, but you can still use the location services on your phone.

Lastly, your activity in Incognito Mode won’t be used to personalize your experience in Google Maps.

How to Go Incognito in Google Maps

Turning on Incognito Mode in Google Maps is quick and easy. First, open the Maps app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android phone or tablet. Tap your profile icon in the top-right corner.

Now, simply select “Turn on Incognito Mode” from the menu.

Select “Turn on Incognito Mode” from the menu.

You’ll see a splash screen, and a message will pop up with some information about what Incognito Mode does. Tap “Close” to proceed.

Close the message about Incognito Mode.
While you’re in Incognito Mode, your location dot on the map will be black instead of blue. Your profile icon will also be replaced by a hat and glasses icon, and there will be a black banner across the top of the screen.

To turn off Incognito Mode, tap the hat and glasses icon in the top-right corner of the Google Maps app and select “Turn Off Incognito Mode” from the menu.

Select “Turn Off Incognito Mode.”
That’s it! This is a simple feature, but if you’re someone who cares about privacy and how much information you give Google, it’s a nice little trick to know.

Leave a Reply

How To Use Guest Mode On Android Devices
Article

How To Use Guest Mode On Android Devices

Sometimes, you may need to enable Guest Mode on your Android phone. Why? Assume your child wishes to play Candy Crush Saga on your phone. You unintentionally hand it over, and the next thing you know, they’ve spammed the lot of your work contacts. Nice? But suppose you don’t want that to happen for some […]

Continue reading
pexels-photo-4132538.jpeg
Article

If You Have Turned On Auto-delete On WhatsApp, Here’s How You Can Keep Your Chats

WhatsApp, the popular messaging app, has just released a new feature that allows users to erase messages automatically. To improve security, it also launched an end-to-end encryption feature for one-to-one communications. WhatsApp has added a new feature that extends the time it takes for messages to be “deleted” after they have been read. The message […]

Continue reading