WhatsApp finally adds disappearing photos feature: How to enable it

WhatsApp has finally added the disappearing photos feature to the stable version of the app. The feature is known as ‘View Once’ and is similar to how Instagram’s expiring media feature works. When you send a photo using this feature, then it will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat. But, you will have to select View Once media each time you want to send a view once photo or video. Keep reading to know more.

What do you need to know about the new WhatsApp features?

WhatsApp has confirmed that any photos or videos you send using “View Once” will not be saved in the recipient’s photos or gallery. Once you send a photo or video that you view once, WhatsApp will no longer be able to view it.

Messaging application prevents you from forwarding, saving, tagging, or sharing for viewing photos or videos sent or received at one time. You can only check whether the recipient has opened the photo or video view without activating the read receipt.

The company that owns Facebook also stated that if you do not open the photo or video within 14 days of posting, the media will disappear from the chat. If the message is still unread during the backup. If the photo or video is already open, the media will not be backed up and cannot be restored.

Why should I use See Once to send multimedia content to trusted users?

WhatsApp allows anyone to take screenshots or screens before the media disappears. In addition, if someone takes a screenshot or screenshot, that person will not be notified.

WhatsApp also warns that you can even use a camera or other device to take photos or videos before the media disappears. The company stated that “encrypted media can be stored on the WhatsApp server for several weeks after being sent.”

How to send View Once media on WhatsApp?

Step 1: Open WhatsApp and tap on the attachment icon.

Step 2: Then, go to Gallery and select the photo or video you want to send to your contact.

Step 3: After selecting it, you will see a clock-like icon in the ‘Add a caption’ bar, just tap on it to enable the View Once feature. Once you enable it, the app will show a message saying “Photo set to View Once.” You can then send disappearing photos to your friends and family members.

Leave a Reply

News

Tecno Pova Neo Launched With MediaTek SoC

Tecno fans are likely to have heard of the Tecno Pova Neo smartphone. For those who are unaware, the device was released last month in a few select nations as a low-cost option. It’s yet another product from Transsion Holding’s brand that aims to win over foreign clients. Now it’s making its way into Asian […]

Continue reading
News

Soon, WhatsApp Will Allow You Move Chat History Between Android And iOS

WhatsApp’s developers are getting close to releasing conversation history transfer between Android and iOS devices. The source code for WhatsApp 22.2.74 beta for iOS disclosed this information. You’ll be able to move your WhatsApp chat history between Android and iOS in the near future. However, it does not appear that the process will be simple. […]

Continue reading
News

Vivo Y21A Launch With Helio P22 SoC And 5,000 mAh Battery

vivo has been busy growing its product line in India this month, launching five smartphones – the V23, V23 Pro, Y21T, Y33T, and Y21e – in the Asian country. But vivo isn’t done yet. In India, the company unveiled the vivo Y21A, the successor to the Y20A, which was announced in December 2020. The vivo […]

Continue reading